1. Sign-Up →Hey there! Welcome to UK of Equestria!
    Getting involved is easy and free! Hit the sign-up button and fill in a quick form to get active on the site.

Open question about postgrad stuff

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous Discussion' started by Cuttleshock, 21 November 2018.

1. Cuttleshock

Cuttleshock Shuffle Champion (and Celeste!)

Hey! Long time, no new thread, and this is a kinda personal one (though it might lend itself to discussion, depending on how many people reply).

I'm currently in my last year of undergrad studies, and over the last month, my feelings about what I wanna do after my degree have changed wildly countless times. I've been trying to get a feel for if it's the right decision for me - do I want to spend two more years holed up in uni and reap the benefits that that bestows? Or do I get a head-start out into the real world?

So first, to anyone who's done/is currently taking any kind of academic postgraduate course, what influenced your decision? Why did you initially go for it, did you have doubts, and has your trajectory changed since? What do you feel it's done for you beyond your first degree?

Also, though, any people who studied at a university and then made the decision not to take it further - why? Do you feel like you're missing out, either in terms of job prospectives or just a more nebulous 'missed opportunity', or are you entirely satisfied with what your degree gave you?

My degree is maths, so it's likely that answers from people in STEM will be more directly relevant to my case, but any experiences could be informative, and I'd love to hear from as many people as possible!

2. Robshi

Robshi Young Dragon

I'm sorry I'm rather late replying to this, but my new job has been rather tiring lately.