1. Due to spambots misusing the Conversation system, some emails from us may get marked as "spam". Please check your spam or junk folders and don't forget to mark them as "Not Spam". Thanks!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Sign-Up →Hey there! Welcome to UK of Equestria!
    Getting involved is easy and free! Hit the sign-up button and fill in a quick form to get active on the site.

Tips for collectors?

Discussion in 'MLP Collectible Card Game (CCG)' started by Equinox, 17 December 2017.

1. Equinox

Equinox Active Pony

I haven't heard of many people that just collect the cards rather than play the game, so I was wondering if there's any of you out there? I'm new to collecting CCG cards and I have a few questions:

1) What's the fair price to pay for one card? How about a SR/UR/RR foiled card?
    2) Is it true the new packs don't have foils anymore?
    3) Are the old cards worth less?
    4) Is it better to collect in decks of cards that would be played or just to collect single cards that one likes?
    5) How can I go about trading the cards? I doubt anyone would be happy with mailing theirs to me first and waiting for me to receive it before I mail mine out.
    6) What's the best place to buy new packs, and also where to buy single specific cards?

Thank you!

2. Irregular Apocalypse

Irregular Apocalypse Follo teh oranj hoers ...

Depends on the card. If it is competitively viable then expect to pay more - assuming you can get them in the first place (case in point, my favourite card). Prices for new cards tend to be artificially inflated anyway.

Cards from Equestrian Odysseys tend to be more expensive as the set is now out of print and Enterplay have stated that they have no plans to reprint it (stupid move, IMO, but that's Enterplay for you - they seem hell-bent on killing the game at the moment.)

Apparently so - I've yet to see any of the new cards myself (yet)

See the answer to question 1.